In Safeguard, there is the push-to-talk function, which allows responders who have been called to an incident to communicate with each other. This can be done via the app on the phone as well as through the dashboard on a PC or laptop.
As a dashboard user, you can listen in and communicate on the push-to-talk channel from a central location.
The push-to-talk works in almost the same way as through the app on the phone.
When you go to the alert or have created one yourself in the dashboard, the push-to-talk channel will automatically open. If you want to use this function, you need to activate it yourself once.
You can activate this function by going to your profile in the top right of the dashboard and clicking on View profile. There, you'll find the option Enable push-to-talk. It's important to save your profile at the bottom of the screen so that the changes are kept.
When an alert is made, you will enter the push-to-talk channel. Here, you can immediately see who else is in the channel. When a participant speaks, it is immediately audible. If you want to say something yourself, you can do so by clicking and holding the 'push-to-talk' button.
In the top right corner, it is also possible to switch to another push-to-talk channel if multiple channels are being used simultaneously.
By clicking on the lock, Safeguard will switch to hands-free mode, meaning that holding down the push-to-talk button is no longer necessary and you will continue 'broadcasting'. It’s good to know that this does not block other participants. They can still speak.
Filling in the checklist during an alert
Next to Push-to-talk, the panel has a Checklists tab. There you fill in the checklist for the alert, just like in the app.
Open the alert in the dashboard.
In the panel, click the Checklists tab.
Choose a checklist under Work together in or Private.
Tick the items that are done.
For a ticked item, you see when it was done and who did it. You fill in a checklist under Work together in together with the emergency responders. A checklist under Private is yours alone.
When the alert is over, click Disconnect in the top right corner. You are then no longer active in the push-to-talk channel.


